Writers of Pro Football Prospectus 2008

11 Sep 2011

Rules question: KO returner tackled in own end zone

If a KO returner catches the kick and is tackled before he can leave the end zone, is it a touchback or safety?

Thanks.

Posted by: SimSportPlyr on 11 Sep 2011

2 replies , Last at 13 Sep 2011, 12:08am by SimSportPlyr

1
Re: Rules question: KO returner tackled in own end zone
by Vince Verhei :: Mon, 09/12/2011 - 6:10pm

If he leaves the end zone and goes back in, it's a safety. If he runs around the end zone but never leaves it, it's a touchback.

2
Re: Rules question: KO returner tackled in own end zone
by SimSportPlyr :: Tue, 09/13/2011 - 12:08am

Thanks, Vince!

Login or register to post comments