29 Nov 2005
It's not as much of a problem as it could have been, since Seattle won the game anyway, but yikes. The refs rarely admit to screwing up one call in a game, let alone two touchdown calls.
Update 6:30 PM Eastern: In the interest of fair reporting: "The report that the NFL informed the Seahawks of officiating mistakes on two Giants touchdown receptions is inaccurate," NFL Vice President of Public relations Greg Aiello said. "Our officiating department never discussed with the Seahawks the Amani Toomer touchdown reception, which was properly called. The Jeremy Shockey touchdown catch at the end of the first half was not overturned, because the referee determined that there was insufficient visual evidence to reverse the call." (Thanks to reader Bockman.)
47 comments, Last at 01 Dec 2005, 5:42am by Calbuzz
Tom and Mike have climbed to the top of the Hill of Nonsense and unleash another wave of insane wagering on the world.