Writers of Pro Football Prospectus 2008

13 Oct 2005

Week 5: Ask Jerry Markbreit

OK, here's Jerry Markbreit's latest mailbag from Week 5. Unfortunately, no one asked him about umpire Doug Eddings pulling a "Don Denkinger" in Game 2 of the ALCS. (bugmenot/free registration required)

Posted by: P. Ryan Wilson on 13 Oct 2005

9 comments, Last at 13 Oct 2005, 11:07pm by Matthew Furtek

Comments

1
by Joey (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 3:18pm

Yes, replay is coming to baseball. The entertaining part will be how they try to spin it and how Selig—in his always incapable way—will try to "handle" the situation. No way that crew should be working again this postseason, imo.

2
by Theo (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 3:48pm

The good thing about replay in baseball is that they can review while the game goes on. Nothing happens anyway.

"After reviewing the play..." (as in uh duh) "... the ball was not on the knee, it was slightly below it. The ruling is a wide and the hitting team wil not be charged with an extra steroid test"

3
by pawnking (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 3:51pm

There is no real reason why replay cannot come to baseball. It can be limited to certain plays, not balls and strikes, but certainly outs like last night can be included. Any without a doubt questionable HRs should be included.

I recall all too well that the reason the Yankees won their first WS a few years ago was because "the kid" clearly interfered with a flyout Tony Torrasco was about to catch. The ump the next day admitted he blew the call. Last night, maybe the Angels would have won and maybe not, but it was clear from the first time I saw the call that it was a blown call by the ump, who then compounded the error by not clearly indicating a drop.

None of this forgives the catcher, of course. What was so appealing about the dugout that he couldn't have waited a second to make sure the ump did his job?

4
by TMK (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 3:59pm

Since Jerry's mailbag seems a week behind (logically enough), I can't wait to see next week's column, with all the questions from Baltimore, Detroit, Miami, Cincinnati and Tampa.

Damn thing should be War and Peace length.

5
by Alan Milnes (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 4:43pm

Catcher tags the runner and the innings is over .....

6
by Trogdor (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 6:26pm

I can't believe I'm not watching the playoffs since neither the Red Sox nor the Yankees are involved. You would think that with both of them gone, I'd be watching a lot more. But so far it hasn't happened. Oh freaking well.

Since this is a football site, I should probably ask a football question. What's the opinion on the new kick/penalty rule? I understand the point of it (avoiding re-kicks), and it speeds things up a little, but I kinda miss re-kicks. There are a decent amount of big returns on a second punt, and there's always the chance that the gamble will backfire for the return team if the punter booms a 70-yarder. It was one of those little strategy situations I always enjoyed for some reason - at what field position do you not bother making them kick again? You still have that a little bit, but the option of tacking the penalty on at the end almost entirely eliminates it.

7
by marc (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 6:26pm

Come on guys, this is FOOTBALL outsiders, not baseballoutsiders or anysportonearthoutsiders.

8
by Bruce Dickinson (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 8:58pm

that is one of the reasons it is difficult for me to pick games from week to week during October, because it is baseball's most relevant and distracting month. and this is potentially a piece of history on that play.

9
by Matthew Furtek (not verified) :: Thu, 10/13/2005 - 11:07pm

Jerry and his editors answered my question but I'm still confused.

Downing the ball is illegal touching, and the officials signal it the same way, with hands to the shoulders. But it's a foul that carries no consequence; the receiving team just takes possession at the point of the foul.

So was the reason the officials called it because there were 0:00 seconds on the clock? I have never seen a player called for illegal touching when he downs the ball.