Extra Points

Articles from around the Web

Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

The best and worst at each position or unit in the playoffs!

Comments

15 comments, Last at 31 Dec 2013, 10:56am

1 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Otis Taylor89 // Dec 30, 2013 - 9:29am

"Tashard Choice is the Ted McGinley of running backs: teams sign him when they are officially out of ideas."
Perfect.

Login or Register to post comments

3 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by dbostedo // Dec 30, 2013 - 10:30am

Not to mention that Shayne Graham is the Tashard Choice of kickers...

Login or Register to post comments

2 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Karl Cuba // Dec 30, 2013 - 10:25am

"Buccaneers defenders were too busy crafting glowing letters of recommendation to the Penn State athletic director about Greg Schiano (gosh, we don't know how to replace him, except to stick a bucket on the handle of a mop and teach it to hate) to put up a fight against a Hall of Famer."

Wonderful.

Login or Register to post comments

4 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by bernie // Dec 30, 2013 - 11:17am

The really sad thing about watching Tashard CHoice run, is all I can think of is, "Why isn't he backing up Donald Brown instead of Trent Richardson"?

Login or Register to post comments

15 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Dr. Mooch // Dec 31, 2013 - 10:56am

Also, Choice is exceptionally solid as a pass blocker. It was really noticeable on 3rd downs after the Bills let him go.

Login or Register to post comments

5 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Purds // Dec 30, 2013 - 12:18pm

Tanier should include in the Patriots playoff run this little tidbit: no QB from the AFC East not named Brady has been ranked by DYAR higher than 17th since 2008. So, for the last half decade, no division opponent has had a top half QB, in a QB drive league. That helps. Ask the Colts this year how nice it is to have no division opponents wih a real QB. Makes it hard not to make the playoffs

Login or Register to post comments

6 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Ben // Dec 30, 2013 - 12:41pm

I want to object to some of Mike's choices. The Colts have a strong argument for the worst receivers and the worst O-Line in the playoffs, but was mentioned in neither of those sections.

The Colts' numbers 2 and 3 receivers spent most of the year on the practice squad. The guy that started the season as the number 2 receiver has now been relegated to special teams gunner. They only have one TE on the roster who can catch, and even that is being generous.

As for the O-Line, I agree the Colts' RBs are bad, but they are also constantly being hit in the back field. The Colts tackles are adequate, but the center of their line has been a joke all year.

Login or Register to post comments

7 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Julio // Dec 30, 2013 - 3:34pm

The 49ers have the worst offensive line in the playoffs? All credibility in the article lost after that.

Login or Register to post comments

8 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by jebmak // Dec 30, 2013 - 4:31pm

It's always funny when someone takes one point from an article, disagrees with no counterpoints, and dismisses the article.

It's laugh worthy that they think so highly of themselves.

Login or Register to post comments

10 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Purds // Dec 30, 2013 - 6:23pm

Well, there are other examples. Calling Brady and Manning equal QBs this season based on their performance this year -- well, that is not an impressive point either.

Login or Register to post comments

12 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by jebmak // Dec 30, 2013 - 7:19pm

I got that feeling that he just didn't want to recreate the 'irrational manning/brady thread' from years ago: not that he thought that they were equal.

Login or Register to post comments

13 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Purds // Dec 31, 2013 - 4:32am

I can see that, but not separating the two in an article about this year's PO makes some of the other statements seem generalizations. I can't speak to the other OLs, but my god, the Colts have been miserable (and with 6 or 8 different starting lineups!).

Login or Register to post comments

11 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Aloysius Mephistopheles // Dec 30, 2013 - 6:59pm

The Niners rank near the bottom of the league in adjusted line yards and they haven't done a good job of keeping Kaepernick upright either. There's a lot of talent and potential on that line, but for whatever reason they never really put it together this year.

Login or Register to post comments

9 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by mehllageman56 // Dec 30, 2013 - 5:21pm

The Chargers next opponent employs the Law Firm and Gio Bernard as well as a pretty good offensive line, which why San Diego will probably lose next weekend. They will definitely lose if they think they're playing Trent Richardson and take the flight to Indy.

Login or Register to post comments

14 Re: Mandatory Monday: Playoff Preview

by Guest789 // Dec 31, 2013 - 5:02am

I don't know about everyone else, but I would take the Packers' receivers over the Bengals in a second. Green > Nelson (but not by as much as you might think), but Cobb, Jones, Boykin >>> Jones, Sanu, Hawkins imo.

-----

“Treat a man as he is, and he will remain as he is. Treat a man as he could be, and he will become what he should be.”

Login or Register to post comments